Intro: ‘Urban Decay’ Is Not a Cosmetics Company


Featured Image credit (link)

So, I think I’d forgotten one roadblock about running a news site about news that is neglected is that you’re unlikely to find any articles about it on the likes of Google News, much less trending .  But a quick Google search gave me just the results I was looking for:

I mean, cosmetics, amirite?  (Here is my unintentional product endorsement for the week)

ummmwhat

But is urban decay just a cosmetics company?  Far from it.

Ironically enough, the only search result in my Google search that was about the real urban decay was the  reputable Wikipedia page (link).  So, I guess I have no choice but to quote Wikipedia, for those of us unfamiliar with the concept or urban decay, and to clear up misconceptions, or to clear up anything that wasn’t cleared up by Urban Decay’s beauty products:

“Urban decay (also known as urban rot and urban blight) is the process whereby a previously functioning city, or part of a city, falls into disrepair and decrepitude.”

 The reason behind urban decay?  A continued lack of funding and support for inner cities are their infrastructure, and a switch of that focus of funding and support to the suburbs.  A visual example, for those of us who are visual learners:

When’s the last time the cul-de-sac looked like that?

Pretty large discrepancy, right? Well, before I conclude this introduction, another term “urban renewal” ought to be under everyone’s belt.  It’s one of the solutions of the future, not to be confused with “gentrification”.

Wikipedia, take me home!

“Urban renewal is a program of land redevelopment in areas of moderate to high density urban land use.”

Or, urban renewal, for visual learners:

And for those of you who read this article solely for my accidental fashion endorsements, ‘Urban Renewal’ is apparently a clothing line by Urban Outfitters, too.

 

Leave a Reply

